Quick and Easy Tomato Soup

1 can tomato paste

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup half and half

1/4 cup bread crumbs *garlic/herb seasoned is delish!
(onion powder, dill weed, cracked pepper, salt to your personal liking)

 

 

 

My oldest and I are struggling to breath, and whether it be severe allergies or a rotten cold, there is one thing my boy always requests when he is under the weather.  It’s not chicken noodle, or beef and barley, or even potato soup.  My son wants tomato soup and he will eat nothing else.

Sometimes I actually have a can of Campbell’s tomato soup on hand in the pantry, but yesterday wasn’t one of those days.  I generally have good luck when experimenting in the kitchen and last night was no exception.  I had to figure out a way to get my boy some tomato soup and fast. 

I always have chicken broth on stock, as well as tomato paste and half and half.  I knew I could whip him up a passable tomato soup with those three pantry items, and add to that.

So here’s what I did.  I scooped the tomato paste into a sauce pan and slowly incorporated about 1/2 cup of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of half and half, with a whisk.  As the soup came together, I added 1/4 cup or less of garlic-herb bread crumbs to give it a little flavor and thickness.  I also seasoned the soup lightly with onion powder, dill weed, salt and cracked pepper.

I let this come to a low boil and then cut the heat to low and stirred it for another 3-4 minutes and then, voila, homemade tomato soup on the dime.  I toasted him an everything-bagel and spread a little whipped chive cream cheese on it as a side.

He was a happy boy and you can be too, in only a matter of minutes with this quick, delicious recipe.

Feel free to share

 

Until next time, this is the Crazy Chicken Lady, signing OFF!

Vaya con Dios

Leave a Reply

