Succulent Pulled Wild Pork

So in my last blog, I mentioned the need to seek inspiration for the hog that recently blessed our freezer. Today, on the winds, came the idea to make pulled pork out of it. I cleaned the trimmings really well, and dried them and set them, full, uncut or trimmed, in a casserole dish. I then added the following:

1/2 bottle of Kraft’s BBQ sauce
1/3 bottle of Ketchup
1/5 bottle of Honey Mustard (all I had)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 small can crushed pineapple
2 sliced onions
10 drops of Habanero Tobasco sauce
A few dashes of Thyme
A heaping Tbsp of spices

I covered the dish with foil, after tossing all the ingredients together real good and giving the hog bits a few last stabs. And let it cook for 3 hours at 350F.

It pulled away from the fat so nicely, and after it cooled a bit I pulled it all apart and added the soft onions and sauce, mashed it all together real good and served it on dressed slices of bread.

It was as good as any pulled pork I’ve had and in some cases MUCH, MUCH better.

I hope you enjoy the recipes I share.

Until next time, this is the Crazy Chicken Lady, SIGNING OFF!

Vaya con Dios!

PS We are making a chicken costume…results will be posted after March 1st!

Leave a Reply

